Adjusting Huck brakes

Discussion in '1947-1954' started by MISurfer, Aug 11, 2007.

1. MISurfer

MISurfer Member

I know there has been several discussions on these and I have read through all that I can find via the search feature. I finally got all the wheel cylinders, master cylinder, shoes and cleanup and paint done. Put it all together (after reading Nate's good advice on adjusting, especially about having the rod on the master cylinder rod rattle), bled all cylinders. But on my final shoe adjustment on the front, I get it to where it just "wsh wsh's", I step on the brake to make sure I have pedal and come back to the wheel and the both fronts are too tight to move. I readjust the shoes, try again, same thing. Tight as a drum (pun intended). Being a total novice, what am I missing? How much resistance should the drums have? No spin but no noise either? I did see that my fronts are probably a little out of round. Thanks for any info guys. Brian

2. Tailgater

Tailgater Member

New return springs solved this for me. Apparently the old springs just get weak and don't have enough left to overcome the expansion of the hydraulic fluid.
    Good luck,
    Gater

3. 1950gmc girl

1950gmc girl Member