Engine Problem

Discussion in '1973-1987' started by Smokinn, Mar 24, 2002.

1. Smokinn

Smokinn Member

HI
    I'm new to the list so this is my first time posting anything but i'm sure you guys can help. I have a 76 chevy 4x4 short box with a 400sb auto trans. My problem is the engine spits and sputters when u romp on the gas to open the 4 barrel. I've did a complete tune up even rebuilt the carb. It's a quadjet carb. I've even went as far as replaceing the timeing gears and chain. I put in a new distruber car rotor even a whole new disdruber. But it still runs like crap. Spits gas up the carb and back fires. Any ideas will help alot.

Jason

2. Craig

Craig Guest

First thing to do it make sure the timing is right on.Set the initial timing and then the vacuum advance. Then set the float,adjust the idle mixture.After all this if it still backfires you have a lean condition.That would mean that the carb has a blocked passage way internally.Also check the egr valve and make sure its not block.They usually are after several years.Also check all vacuum lines.Usually when I have problems I just replace all the vacuum lines.Their cheap enough to do that.Let me know what happens.

3. Smokinn

Smokinn Member

thanks for replying

I did set the timming manualy. I will try the other things you said to try. I hope something works im at my wits end but i will let you no what happens.

Thanks
    Jaosn

4. Customdeluxe20

Customdeluxe20 Member

If all these things fail i would guess your camshaft has a lobe or two

5. Smokinn

Smokinn Member

HI