Painting Advice

Discussion in '1947-1954' started by JW 54, Apr 15, 2010.

1. JW 54

JW 54 Member

My trucks paint is worn and needs to be painted. I am a novice with a paint gun and have several questions. I am not looking for a show truck paint job, just a nice looking truck.
    Can I just sand down my current paint smooth and reshoot it with the same color thats on it?
    Should I sand it smooth, spot prime it and seal it then paint it? I guess what i'm trying to ask is can I repaint my truck without stripping it all the way down to bare metal?
    From what I can tell the truck has been repainted once over the original paint.
    I would like to use a single stage Urathane paint. Thats what I used on the inside of the cab and it came out nice.
    Can I paint it in pieces or should I do it all at once? Will this effect the color match.
    Does any of this sound possible or should I just try to find someone to paint it for me? Funds being limited.
    Thanks for any advice,
    JW

2. bigtimjamestown

bigtimjamestown Member

2 words," EARL SCHEIB " He'll paint any car for 99.95 :eek: :eek: lol

3. ol' chebby

ol' chebby Member

Actually, a quicky paintjob is well worth going to Maaco, Earl, etc. The key is to remove as much trim, etc as possible, as they spray volume and do not take the time you or I might in inshuring no tape lines. I had a buick wagon painted by the Peach in Charlotte, $400 for roof and trunk stripping(GM metallic grey clearcoat syndrome) down to metal, priming and paint. There was only 4 small pieces of trash in the paint, which beats many body shops.