Steering Column, Horn Wiring- need advice

Discussion in '1947-1954' started by Haasman, Sep 24, 2010.

1. Haasman

Haasman Member

I am hoping you guys can give me some advice ... I am new to these trucks but I am really liking them a lot. So ....

My '51 3100 has power steering that the PO installed, a Toyota power steering unit. OK, good truck and I figured if it has power steering ... no big deal. One thing I did notice was a horn button down along side the steering column. Hmmmm.

I now am in the process of replacing the wiring. Got a basic kit from this site. Before installing I gutted the dash, cleaned out all the old wiring, surface rust, wasps nests and debris. I started looking at the steering column and noticed it does have a wire that runs up inside it, entering about mid-way. There was also a screw there by the hole.

Am I correct that the steering column is insulated from the body? Insulated at the under-dash mount AND where the column does through the firewall? (So that it doesn't ground out and thus the horn button can be used in the center of the steering wheel?)

So .... is there supposed to be something at the top of the steering column, under the steering wheel that makes contact with the horn contact spring? My truck doesn't have anything like that.

If there is a wire that goes up the column, how does it do that and not get rubbed on by the steering shaft inside?

Thanks for the help,

Haasman

Last edited: Sep 24, 2010
  2. Larrys 48

Larrys 48 Member

From the Factory Assembly Manual

Haasman - The the 'contact spring assembly' has a wire from it that comes out part way down the steering column.

Attached Files:

3. Haasman

Haasman Member

Larry - the picture is great! Wow where do you find these illustrations?

I can see I am missing a few things ..... like the Hub Cover Assembly #2, Horn Button Assy', Spring & Contact, Insulator etc.

What keeps the Steering Shaft from turning?