Old Navy Trucks

Discussion in '1947-1954' started by Robert, Jul 26, 2006.

1. vwnate1

vwnate1 Member

The _Wrong_ answer

O.K. Andy ;

I'm a mechanic too , not a body & paint guy but I learned a little bit doing all those used cars over the years .

If I understand it correctly , the clear coat only peels off if it's not properly prepped -or- if you use the wrong typ of clear coat as not all paint types mix .

I know that's a horribly vauge answer but not to worry , we have good paint & fender guys on this list who'll correct my mistakes about this in a short time....

I have a shop truck too and I'd be seriously pissed off if anyone left greasy hand prints on it.....:mad:

I shampoo the engine regularly even if I don't wash it but 3 or 4 X a year :eek:

I had it out to-day , drove down to the SouthBay to have breakfast , coffee and good conversations with a mechanic buddy , the dusty fenders make it look ' barn fresh ' ~ guess it's time for a wash again :rolleyes:

NO wreath this szeason as I put two on my Mercedes Benz's then my brother hit the road to drive his old Mercedes up to Bellingham , Wa. so I hung the truck's wreath on his car after I finished the pre trip PM ...

The old truck still got a loota good looks as it was rolling down the road tho' :p

2. Kevin's 48

Kevin's 48 Member

You might want to PM Bill Hanlon. He's the guy that went old school on the body work and finished in his with lead. His truck looks amazing. I know he could help.

3. Kens 50 PU

Kens 50 PU Member

Oops, wrong Bill

Hey Kevin, I think you mean Bill Bevins, not Bill Hanlon. Mr. Bevins is the guy who worked at the GM Tech Center and is very knowledgable on all aspects of body and paint.

Andy, my bet is that when your guy gets back to you on the paint, it's probably going to be Mariner Blue. Very popular color on AD trucks.

4. Kevin's 48

Kevin's 48 Member

I checked through my emails and your right Ken. It's Bill Bevins not Bill Hanlon. OOPS, MY BAD:eek:

5. sweet50