1953 GMC found new home

Discussion in '1947-1954' started by Elky67, Jan 21, 2011.

1. Elky67

Elky67 Member

Hi folks,

just wanted to introduce my new toy and me, being new to this forum.

The truck is a 1953 GMC Hydramatic, 5 window, long bed, 1/2 ton.
    I found him on ebay last spring and decided, to bring him from Oregon to Germany.

It looked pretty solid, with the right patina, which i intend to keep as much
    as possible. All safety equipment will be overhauled or renewed though.

Here in Germany all vehicles have to pass a strict safety inspection every two years; so in order to get this sticker, everything needs to be safe and legal.

At the moment, i´m cleaning the frame and related parts and paint with special anti rust paint.

Next step will be the box, where all the wood is long gone and some metal
    parts are also a bit week. But this kind of work suits me best, as i´m a metal constructor by trade.

So hopefully you guys can help me out, if i get stuck in some kind of problems.:)

Greets

Attached Files:

2. ctzr1

ctzr1 Member

Welcome aboard
    Congrats on the GMC.:D

3. coilover

coilover Member

Truck looks to be good starting material, super job of frame cleaning, and WHAT THE DEVIL is that trailer designed for? Never seen anything like it with the cage for the truck to set in.

4. Zig

Zig Member

Don't forget, Evan...

It's a GMC! :D

A Chevy just needs a trailer... :p

5. Elky67

Elky67 Member

Hi, look´s like there are a few GMC supporters out there as well:D

The truck came into Rotterdam and then was brought to my home with this yellow "big" truck.
    The truck driver said, when he stopped at a gas station, he all of a sudden
    saw a few scumbags coming from nowhere, trying to nick those number plates:mad:
    Maybe that fence slowed down their transaction, luckily.

First i thought about getting a media blaster, to clean the frame, but after taking off the box, i discovered, that the rust didn´t sit to deep in the frame,