81 rebuild

Discussion in 'General Chevy & GMC Pickups Talk' started by chevy girl, Dec 8, 2004.

1. chevy girl

chevy girl Member

I have been tinkering with trucks for about 5 years now, and about a year ago I bought what I thought was an 82 GMC. I was planing on rebuilding him, but soon found myself pulling wood screws out! The person I bought him from used wood screws to hold parts on!!(Along with other assorted items) I mean come on! Anyway- My question is-- where should I begin? Some are telling me the interior, others are saying the engine (but amazingly enough that seems to be the only thing that was done right). What do yall suggest??? I'm open to everything at this point.

2. Hardy Rest

Hardy Rest Guest

Hello Chevy Girl, welcome to the discussion forums!

I run a restoration business, and I have always started from the inside out. It's MUCH easier to do the interior first, then if you want to match the exterior, it's easier. That sucks about the previous owner - I've never heard of such a thing x( but if you need anything, I own a restoration business, and can supply you with lots and lots of parts at wholesale prices. I'm actually currently restoring a 81 Chevy myself as well. Please email or call, thanks!

Stephen Hardy
    Owner
    Hardy Chevrolet & GMC Restoration
    HardyAutoParts@hotmail.com
    817-228-8824

3. nerfherder78

nerfherder78 Member

You can start whereever you want, but if the engine/driveline is all good then the interior would be a good place to start. Just make sure that the last thing you do is paint so it doesn't get messed up.