conversion 3 speed to 4 speed

Discussion in '1967-1972' started by Biggs68C10, Sep 25, 2005.

1. Biggs68C10

Biggs68C10 Member

I'm a newbie to the Chevy Duty forum. I hope to learn a lot from you guys on this forum.

However, prior to me posting my question I’ve used the search link to find my question and found no info on this conversion.

I have a Chevy 68 c10 pickup with 3-speed on the tree converted to the floor. Now I want to install a 4 speed. So, over the weekend I just purchase a 69 Chevy suburban 4-speed tranny. My question is what do I need to make this happen? I notice that the yolk on the 4-speed is larger and it seem that it will not fit my current drive shaft.

Your answer would greatly be appreciated.

Steve

2. 61Apache

61Apache Member

[updated:LAST EDITED ON Sep-25-05 AT 10:49 AM (CST)]No big deal, look in your local yellow pages for a driveline shop, they will almost be certain to have the correct yoke laying around to swap onto your existing drive shaft. I would install the tranny first, and then measure the driveshaft, as you may have to have it shortened by the drive line shop anyway. And just have them install the correct yoke at that time. Good time to get new U joints also.

Next question is, what type of four speed is this? Does it have a top loaded shifter? If it does you will likely have floor pan clearance issues, which you can solve by getting the tranny hump out of the suburban the tranny came from.

The last question, what are you hoping to gain by swapping in the four speed over the three? Keep in mind, unless that fourth speed is an overdrive gear, it will not get you any better fuel economy as the final ratio is still 1:1.
    Not trying to be a smart a**, just trying to save you some time and $$ to reach your goal.....

3. Biggs68C10

Biggs68C10 Member

Thanks for the quick response.

The 4-speed has the shifter on top. Per your advice I went by today and pick up the larger hump cover for the 4-speed.