Haasman's 1951 3100

Discussion in '1947-1954' started by Haasman, Jul 14, 2014.

1. Haasman

Haasman Member

I've been asked to post some pictures of my truck. I should point out I have never done anything like this before. I now have the time to work on it and I wanted to do a really good job.

OK, I had no idea what I was getting into. I bought the truck being told it was "somewhat restored" ..... OK..... It wasn't.

First date night in the truck coming back from dinner the headlights went out around a curve! That's when I found out the wiring insulation being 60 years old was dust, literally! Coming down a long steep hill near where I live I found out that 60 year old brakes can't compete with modern disk brakes. I had to pull into the emergency lane when traffic came to a sudden stop ahead. I finally came to a full stop 6 car lengths past. Wow, OK install front disks.

My concept is to keep it basically stock with a few modern improvements. I want to drive it regularly. I took it down to the frame, had a friend who is a sand blaster and a powder coater do the frame and a lot of parts. Our agreement was I would come hang out and he'd powder coat for a reasonable price.

I have learned a ton about drilling out broken bolts, basically how not to do things and also spent some good time with my son, which has been great

So here are some pictures of my project so far. I don't do paint and body work, but I marvel at those that do. I am currently awaiting my cab to be finished painted so I can start putting all those parts back together again.

Because of the patience, generosity and support from this site I am able to overcome some problems and figure out how my Advanced Design goes back together.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I'll post some more pictures as I make progress. (If I can do this, you can do this!)

Haasman

Attached Files:

Last edited: Aug 27, 2014
  2. Guest5979

Guest5979 Guest

sweet

Can't wait to see it all come together

3. ccharr