headlamp switch headlamp terminal no power

Discussion in '1947-1954' started by denisf, Aug 24, 2017.

  1. denisf

    denisf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Colchester, CT/ Clermont, FL
    Ok last issue with rewire is headlights. Can I move the headlamp connector to the taillamp terminal since i know it works? Denis
     
  2. denisf

    denisf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Colchester, CT/ Clermont, FL
    Ok so I tried moving headlamp to park lamp terminal alone, and lights work, both high beam and low beam. I do notice the high beam indicator is always on? I am not confident in wiring the dimmer switch, diagram shows type 1 and type 2. How do you tell?
     
  3. ol' chebby

    ol' chebby Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,146
    Location:
    Charlotte,NC
    I use the standard gm surface mount foot stomp switch. 3 terminals. I'll have to go look at one to remember which wire goes where.
     
  4. denisf

    denisf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Colchester, CT/ Clermont, FL
    Thanks I figured it out. One last step needed to replace the switch, one terminal was dead and one was loose shorting to another. Denis
     
  5. Bill Hanlon

    Bill Hanlon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,269
    Location:
    Klein TX
    Moving the headlight wire to the tail light terminal is a bad idea. Headlight terminal on the switch is protected by a built-in self resetting circuit breaker while tail light terminal depends on a down stream fuse that only provides protection for the tail lights.
     
  6. denisf

    denisf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Colchester, CT/ Clermont, FL
    Thanks I bought anew switch old one had multiple problem.s. I have one remaining issue hi low beam dimmer switch works but hi beam indicator on all the time. Denis
     
  7. Bill Hanlon

    Bill Hanlon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,269
    Location:
    Klein TX
    Where is the wire for the high beam indicator attached? Mine is attached to the high beam wire at the dimmer switch.
     
  8. denisf

    denisf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Colchester, CT/ Clermont, FL
    So I used the harness from sponsor. I am pretty sure it is to dimmer. My theory is there were 5 or 6 light bulb socks for gauges and maybe I have guage light in that hole.
     
  9. Bill Hanlon

    Bill Hanlon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,269
    Location:
    Klein TX
    Does the high beam indicator come on when the headlight switch is just pulled to the first stop (parking lights)? If so, you are correct.
     
  10. denisf

    denisf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Colchester, CT/ Clermont, FL
    Correct it comes on right away and dimmer switch has no affect.

    I am pretty happy that is my last known issue. Actually I only had about 5 issues and two were related to bad switch.

    Highly recommend the harness from our sponsor. Denis
     
  11. sleepindawg

    sleepindawg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Topeka, Ks
    Denisf, did you use the stock style replacement dimmer switch from our host (part # 53-211) ? If so, how is it supposed to be wired in? I "assume" the center post with the two rivets is power in but am unsure of high and low beem (right and left post).

    Tim
     
  12. denisf

    denisf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Colchester, CT/ Clermont, FL
    Ti I don't have my notes here in Florida Below is a pic. The headlights are feed from the dimmer switch, so you need power to the dimmer switch. then when you step on the switch it routes power to hi or low beam filament.

    Hope this helps. Denis
    lightswitch.jpg
     
  13. sleepindawg

    sleepindawg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Topeka, Ks
    I understand that part. The part that I'm unsure about is the replacement dimmer switch from our host. It isn't marked in any way as to the pole connections. Power, High and Low beams.

    Thanks
    Tim
     
  14. denisf

    denisf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Colchester, CT/ Clermont, FL
    oh I did not get a new one. the wiring diagram had diagrams of switches on the back to determine tye, there is a type 1 and 2. I bet if you call them they can tell your which post is which.
     
  15. sleepindawg

    sleepindawg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Topeka, Ks
    I'll have to wait till tomorrow to call them. They are closed today..
    I am trying to button up the firewall today. I'll just move on to the dash and go back to the firewall after I talk to them.

    Tim
     
  16. denisf

    denisf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Colchester, CT/ Clermont, FL
    Tim My memory (shaky) is there was one long terminal on the back of the switch and that was power and hi low the others. Denis
     
  17. sleepindawg

    sleepindawg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Topeka, Ks
    You are correct, that's how the original dimmer switch is laid out.
     

Share This Page