Installing a C-Notch

Discussion in '1947-1954' started by Ricos54, Jan 7, 2014.

1. Ricos54

Ricos54 Member

Installing a C-Notch Building 54 Chevy Truck

I've installed a 4 link in the rear. I lowered the frame in the back to be level with the front. Now the frame is sitting on the axle, I would like to install a c-notch to give me about 4" of space for the axle to move up and down. Can anyone recommend some company for c-notches? I was hoping I could find some that would slid over the frame weld then cut the frame to make it easy! I just don't want the c-notch to be to big that I lose some of my bed. I want use the entire bed and keep the c-notch below the bed rails.
    Thanks

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Oct 9, 2014
  2. Blueflame236

Blueflame236 Member

3. Lakeroadster

Lakeroadster Member

Well... actually I am a Mechanical Engineer and a Certified Welding Inspector, not a professional welder. But my day job is working with professional welders, the difference between a great installation and a poor one is more often than not simply a matter of the fellow doing the work.​
    Rico,

I usually use a 2x4 on it's side to establish ride height when mocking up the suspension, which gives about 3-1/2" travel. Are you planning to use coilovers and a panhard bar atatched to the rear of the 4 bar brackets?​

Last edited: Jan 8, 2014
  4. Ricos54

Ricos54 Member

Yes I plan on using coilovers and the pan hard bar will go diagonal from the rear mount across to the front mount. You can see the hiems on the bottom. And the rear end is at ride height in the picture.
    I was wanting something like this, maybe a little higher off the top of the frame
    [​IMG]

5. ol' chebby

ol' chebby Member