Lower door skins

Discussion in '1960-1966' started by UltraRick, Jul 28, 2005.

1. UltraRick

UltraRick Member

I am going to replace the lower door skin on my 66 1/2 ton. I am a decent home welder. Are there any tips anyone could offer, or anything I should avoid? Any comments would be appreciated:7

2. rdw_4317

rdw_4317 Member

Don't have any tips, but can you tell me where I can get the door skins.

3. 61Apache

61Apache Member

rdw, Click the "online store" tab above, and do a search for part # 44-715. There's your lower door skins for $27.95 each;)

4. UltraRick

UltraRick Member

>rdw, Click the "online store" tab above, and do a search for
    >part # 44-715. There's your lower door skins for $27.95
    >each;)

Well, There you go.. Chevy Duty! :D

5. 66amb

66amb Member

I just finsihed replacing the inner and outer door skins on my 66 panel. I used a wire feed and did a pretty good job. Be careful of warpage and make sure you get an exact measurement for refit. Before I did the welding I made sure my measurments lined up then cut out the rotted panels and laid in the new with a few pop rivets. I then rehung the doors to make sure the fit was correct, made a few adjustments, then did the welding. Turned out ok and didn't have to use too much filler to even it out.

6. UltraRick

UltraRick Member

>I just finsihed replacing the inner and outer door skins on
    >my 66 panel. I used a wire feed and did a pretty good job.
    >Be careful of warpage and make sure you get an exact
    >measurement for refit. Before I did the welding I made sure
    >my measurments lined up then cut out the rotted panels and
    >laid in the new with a few pop rivets. I then rehung the
    >doors to make sure the fit was correct, made a few
    >adjustments, then did the welding. Turned out ok and didn't
    >have to use too much filler to even it out.