new gas guage/old sending unit

Discussion in '1960-1966' started by copout27, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. copout27

    copout27 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Ormond Beach Fl
    Hey guys. I'm finishing up my year and a half project on my '66 stepside. If I put a new modern gas guage in, will it work with the original sending unit? If not, what do I have to do? Thanks.
     
  2. bigtimjamestown

    bigtimjamestown Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    683
    Location:
    Jamestown Ca.
    The Ohms have to be the same for the gauge and the sender in order for it to work properly. Example 0-90 ohms. Just check the sender to make sure it matches the gauge you are using...Big Tim :cool:
     
  3. copout27

    copout27 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Ormond Beach Fl
    Thanks Big Tim. Do you by chance know if a '66 original sending unit is 0-90ohms?
     
  4. dcsi5919

    dcsi5919 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    Kansas City United States
    Original sender and gauge, is 0-30 ohms and are not compitable with 0-90 ohm units.
     
  5. Lakeroadster

    Lakeroadster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,577
    Location:
    Central Colorado
  6. copout27

    copout27 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Ormond Beach Fl
    Thanks alot guys, yall gave me the info I needed. Hope to post some pics soon. Thanks again, Skip.
     

Share This Page