Newbie here, saying HI, and got a q

Discussion in '1973-1987' started by GER, Mar 9, 2004.

1. GER

GER Member

Hi everyone, glad to find a site devoted to these great trucks! I have a mostly all original 1980 GMC Sierra Classic-Heavy Half. My parents bought this truck new and I've owned it for the last few years. It has a stock 350, turbo 400 trans., and is just about fully loaded. The truck is in decent shape, but of course there are a few things that need attention. I would like to replace the fuel tanks as they have started leaking. Does the box need to come off the truck to replace the fuel tanks, or will the tanks drop down. Is there anything else I should look for or do when I am changing these tanks? Any help would be much appreciated! Thanks!

2. tech1

tech1 Member

RE: Newbie here, saying HI, and got

Yes you can change the tanks without removing the bed. I would check the senders and make sure they look in good shape. You don't want to have to drop the tanks again to replace the senders.

3. GER

GER Member

Thanks for your help! Much appreciated!

4. GER

GER Member

Well, I was looking at the fuel tanks tonite, and some things got me wondering?
    1- To me it looks like I have to remove the truck box because there are the fuel lines on top of the tanks where the senders are. It doesn't look like the tanks will come down far enough to unhook those lines as they are quite short.
    2- If I do not have to remove the box, can I drop them tanks with the truck on the ground, or do I need to lift the truck up on a hoist or something?