Signal lights stop flashing

Discussion in '1973-1987' started by shannong, May 30, 2011.

1. shannong

shannong Member

I have a 79 Sub. the problem i have is when i have the signal lights on they work and flash fine until i hit the brakes when the brake lights are on the lights stop flashing. It has a trailer brake controler but it doesnt seem to work, I have replaced the flasher and all the bulbs. does anyone know where to look next or have had this problem? I dont understand why they work until i hit the brakes. i am hopeing that someone has already fixed this problem and can point me in the right direction. i am a disabled vet. and getting around and under the dash and truck is hard to do and i can not afford to pay someone to fix it for me. so any advice that point me to somewhere that will save me alot of work and money will be greatly appricated

2. vwnate1

vwnate1 Member

T.S.Failure

WELCOME ! .

THANK YOU FOR YOUR SERVICE ! (yes , some of us never forget)

Anyways , 99 % of the time , this is caused by poor grounding in the rear taillight sockets , go to your FLAPS & purchase a battery cleaning brush and use it to clean the socket until it's shiny clean again then carefully smear a tiny bit of wheel bearing grease on the brass part of the # 1157 taillight bulbs .

It is very important to use a conductive grease , not dielectric typ of grease some will suggest .

Once this first step is done , re - test then as necessary , add a grounding strap from one taillight mounting bolt to the body , as needed .

Take the time to do this correctly in the correct step by step order and it'll never trouble you again .

I like to spray paint this battery brush red so I'll know forevermore it's a taillight tool and not to ever touch a battery with it .

3. shannong

shannong Member

thank you. and thank you for the answer. i will do that and check it out first thing in the am. i pray this solves my problem.

4. vwnate1

vwnate1 Member

Don't Pray !