Some Items I did to my 59 Apache

Discussion in '1955-1959' started by steve, Jul 9, 2011.

1. steve

steve Member

Well everyone, I'm not a pro, but the pictures will show some items/ mods I have done to me Apache 59, well it used to be a 59, it had the 59 small window cab, which was switch for a more solid big window from a 55, the big windows kind of grow on ya!. The front fenders are from a 58 GMC (you might have seen them on E-bay). The engine is a 1972 350 truck engine, with a 1987 200r4 overdrive transmission, I did not go with the 700R4 because the 200 is lighter shorter and will support the 300 hp. The bed is from a 1957, but that’s my original tailgate. You can see the power steering setup, (sorry Toyota 4x4 box). Three point seat belts, and this summer front 6 lug rotors and disc brakes.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jul 9, 2011
  2. babailey

babailey Member

Were there any fender fitment issues when you went to the 55 cab? Did the 59 fenders fit the cab and do both cabs use the same mounting points?

I really like the big back window, and there are some 59 cabs available, but I suspect I could get a better deal if I could look for a wider range of options.

Thanks!

3. steve

steve Member

Cabs

Hey babailey,

The fenders fit very well (same mounting points) no major mounting issue, one of the top fender support flange needed to be trimmed a ¼ inch, I don’t think it was with the cabs being different years but with a consistency with different fabrication plants or whatever back then. Even the fender brace used in the same location,

I think if there were any changes to the 55-57 and the 58-59 cabs it was very minor, maybe at the floor starter switch. I was a little confused with what hood hinges to use since I believe the earlier cabs were fire wall mounted only. But I used my 59.