Cracked frame repairs?

Discussion in '1947-1954' started by Bilbo, Sep 26, 2007.

1. Bilbo

Bilbo Member

Hi All, I'm a newcomer. Good site with lots of experienced mechanics! I've got a '50 GMC and '52 Chevy to make one truck out of... I THINK it's gonna be a GMC. Not restoring, just rebuilding. I have the Chevy stripped down to the frame, and have a few cracks from a bolt hole to the edge of the frame rail. Also, a cross member has some cracks in the flange ends where they attach to the frame. Any concerns with this? If so, what's the best repair method?

2. Kens 50 PU

Kens 50 PU Member

Welcome to the forum!

Another Texan joins the ranks! Zig is going to love the fact that there will be another jimmy coming back to life!

I'm thinking that cracks in your frame could be welded up, but I'm not an expert on whether or not they can be welded or the welding technique used. But rest assured, there are some very knowledgable folks on the forum who will tell you exactly what you need to do about your frame.

We have a lot of fun here and love looking at pics, even if they are less than gorgeous Chevs:D

3. Bill Hanlon

Bill Hanlon Member

55-59 GMC Maintenence Manual has a couple of pages devoted to fixing frame cracks. I'd take it to a big truck shop.

4. Kevin's 48

Kevin's 48 Member