new user - '87 TBI - lots of questions

Discussion in '1973-1987' started by The Carpenter, Apr 11, 2009.

1. The Carpenter

The Carpenter Member

hey chevy truck forum. been watchin a little while an man you guys got some nice trucks. ya'll seem to really know your stuff too and are cool about helpin out us rank amateurs too. i'm hoping for some of that help myself.
    i've had my 87 for seven years now and havn't had to do much outside of keepin oil in it. best vehicle i've ever owned! just had the trany(700r4) rebuilt. did the timing chain and gears and seals at same time,- leaky old motor. Pretty dry now, but i didn't know i needed to silicone the oil pan gasket at the timing cover. little leak there. i'm learning about this truck everytime i open the hood but i'm still a rank amateur mechanic. great carpenter... slow mechanic.

the truck has alway had a high idle, but it's gotten worse lately. also smells rich and blows carbon out the pipes. nice stripe on the concrete.
    usually a little water if it's been sittin. i think thats condensation in the pipes.
    i've checked for vacuum leaks, found some, made some, cured some.
    i'm pulling 20hg at the line to the vac resevoir, 18hg at the line to the MAP.
    I thought it was the egr but i took it off, checked it out it seemed to be working or at least not stuck open - might not be opening when it needs to.
    how do you check that out.?
    Also, i'm running just a Catalytic Converter with no muffler. is that generaly a problem? (besides sounding crappy).
    How do i know if the CAT is clogging? will that cause high idle and black soot?

i checked the timing after installing the new chain/sprockets, it was still at zero with the ecm diconnected. but when i hook up the computer (and reset the ecm) it idles way advanced -off the scale then when it goes into closed circuit (ecm turns on at operating temp) it drops some but still 10-12 degrees advanced. is that normal?