228 gmc (1949) engine locked up

Discussion in '1947-1954' started by spurgeon2, Apr 26, 2012.

1. spurgeon2

spurgeon2 Member

Gentlemen,
    I am having no luck getting my engine freed up. I have been putting diesel fuel and marvel mystery oil in the cylinders but still no luck. I am unable to turn the crankshaft (starting dog)by hand and have even tried using a 1/4 socket extension bar in the starter dog. I am trying to turn it with enough force to rock the engine in its mounts (probably too much). Everything is off the engine except the cylinder head, distributor and oil pan. I am thinking about pulling the oil pan to see if I can see anything from underneath. There is nothing obvious from the outside I can see. Any ideas or thoughts are greatly appreciated.

v/r
    john m.

2. SinclairChevy

SinclairChevy Member

I have no experience with this product, but I've heard others that swear by it:

http://www.seized-engine.com/

Might be worth a try? Seems cheap enough. Good luck, and let keep us posted.

Damon

3. Blueflame236

Blueflame236 Member

Engine release !

Tell us excactly what has happened with the engine before you got it , its history is important ! Is it general wear we are talking about here or has it been standing in the open air and water has come inside and made it rusty ? What are your plans to do with the engine , do you wanna remanufature it totally or partly ? You could remove the top . The cyl. top valves might have got stocked or burned or maybe one or more of the pistons are stocked ? Most likely not the bearings but thats easy to observate when taking the pan off ?

http://www.seized-engine.com/used-car-engines.html

If rust is the problem Poor Coca - Cola or brake fluid Dot 5 in your engine and let it work a week or so then try again. If this does`nt work you can allways buy the engune release fluid. Beware of the fact you have to use googles and hand/body protection!

Last edited: Apr 27, 2012
  4. spurgeon2

spurgeon2 Member