AutoZone sucks

Discussion in '1960-1966' started by aimless, Sep 26, 2006.

1. aimless

aimless Member

Just an FYI . . .

Bought a new radiator cap the other day from there. Worked good for about a week. Then I was driving down the highway and smelled that wonderful sweet smell we all know and HATE to smell. So I pulled over and poped the hood - antifreeze had shot all over the inside of my hood. All hoses were in good order . . . I can only conclude that the radiator cap is a POS. That's why you don't buy a $5 cap from AutoZone.

2. 283 man

283 man Member

Ive had bad luck there a time or two,one time few years back with a fuel pump that was brand new from them and put it on the POS wouldnt pump fuel,long story short bought one at Oriellys.

3. 66 KUSTOM

66 KUSTOM Member

I Work As A Parts Advisor/mechanic At A Local Dealership, And My Friends, Shucks, Autozone, Or Any Small Chain With No Wholesale Side, Are Only Good For Air Freshners, Floormats And Antenna Balls. Everthing Else Is Garenteed Garbage.

4. drabo

drabo Member

I bought a new alternator from them. After a week a screw on the inside of the case came loose. Needless to say it made one hell of a racket and I had to replace the alternator.

5. Ebon Hawk

Ebon Hawk Member

I have had the ...heh... pleasure of working at both AZ and it's closest competitor, the big O'. While I'll agree with everyone here that AZ has some very poor quality OEM parts, *especially* when it comes to alternators, starters, and just about any other part you really can't drive a vehicle without, the "little green men" down the street aren't much better.