Pertronics???

Discussion in '1947-1954' started by Chiro, May 30, 2010.

  1. vwnate1

    vwnate1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    11,154
    Location:
    AMERICA !
    As long as you're very gentle with the plug wires it's O.K. to trim them as necessary .

    Look in the operator's manual or shop manual to see how they should be grouped and routed .
     
  2. skalywag

    skalywag Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Nashville
    Thanks Nate. They are very well made and I guess I will need a crimping tool to do them correctly.
     
  3. fab51

    fab51 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Central Missouri
    The last set of wires I purchased for the '51 were for a late model Jeep Cherokee with a 4.0 inline 6. They fit very nicely, but two of the spark plug boots are different than the others.
     
  4. vwnate1

    vwnate1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    11,154
    Location:
    AMERICA !
    You can always cheat and use solid copper stranded core wires and solder the ends on and use resistor typ spark plugs......
     
  5. skalywag

    skalywag Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Nashville
    I was able to re-arrange the wire set to a very satisfactory result. My plugs are AC 45R and now with the new 7mm carbon core wires, new Pertronix coil and Ignitor - it now runs as smooth as ever.
    The Ignitor's info sheet states that it is not compatible with solid core plug wires, but I previously ran with the solid copper wires for years (until it died on me).
     
  6. LaTroca52

    LaTroca52 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    813
    So funny this post came back up
    I’m planning to do the pertronix upgrade my self
     
  7. vwnate1

    vwnate1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    11,154
    Location:
    AMERICA !
    THANK YOU for the warning ! .

    I've never had one fail yet but I'm careful to never leave the key on when testing etc. unless I disconnect the power to the Pertronix .

    For me, a Mechanic/driver/owner of various older vehicles, there is NO DOWN SIDE to this )or any other) breakerless ignition system as it instantly drives the system to it's maximum output, why you get easier starting how or cold , more power and increased fuel economy all at the same time along with less maintenance ~ yes, you still need to check the timing occasionally because things wear .

    Never forget to OPEN THOSE SPARK PLUG GAPS as there's where the extra power and fuel economy comes from : better combustion by hotter sparks .
     
  8. LaTroca52

    LaTroca52 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    813
    CE7762A7-BC0F-4281-9CF5-33B02FD1E95E.png 5F874BC1-7DED-4CB7-B68B-A0E5E2AEA33F.png 5F874BC1-7DED-4CB7-B68B-A0E5E2AEA33F.png 0E42142A-6B1A-46E2-AE19-5096F77D9C9B.png 35195F5D-F9C3-41B9-BD0A-9A1373A79501.png I just pick up all these goodies hopefully say goodbye to points
     

    Attached Files:

  9. vwnate1

    vwnate1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    11,154
    Location:
    AMERICA !
    ? Doesn't the Pertronix require a rotator under the rotor ? .
     
  10. LaTroca52

    LaTroca52 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    813
    From what I’ve seen online some engines require a magnet that sits under the rotor and not needing the rotor I think the v8 engines haven’t seen it for the 6 cylinder
     
  11. skalywag

    skalywag Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Nashville
    The new Pertronix I just installed does not use a "rotator" like my old one, but relies on the existing lobes of the distributor shaft. Works very well so far.
     
    RidesWithYah likes this.
  12. dorcutt

    dorcutt Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Keep the truck in VT
    I have installed the Pertronics in my 57 and having a bit of a problem getting it to start smoothly. It was running OK before. I have statically checked the timeing following the valve train procedure that’s out there and did not removed the dizzy so it should be pretty close.
    Am I reading here that I shouldn’t be using solid core spark plug wires? Not sure what I have on there now but they have been there for a while.
    I have been leaning to the carburetor as I was fooling around with the the mixture screw as it was running to rich and may screwed it up.
     
  13. Bill Hanlon

    Bill Hanlon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,504
    Location:
    Fredericksburg TX
    Mixture screw should effect idle only.
     

Share This Page