Pertronix install?

Discussion in '1947-1954' started by bammiller84, Nov 27, 2015.

  1. bammiller84

    bammiller84 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    DANVILLE, IN
    Just received pertronix kit and coil to install in the truck. Looks pretty easy to install in the distributor, but have a question about where the red wire goes? My truck is converted to 12vlt and has a white ballast resistor on the firewall. After reading the instructions just want to make sure what to do. Does it just hook to the coil or do I need to run it somewhere else?
     
  2. Bill Hanlon

    Bill Hanlon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,735
    Location:
    Fredericksburg TX
    My Dad used to say, "When all else fails, look in the trash for the directions."

    That said, I'm pretty sure you ditch the ballast resistor.
     
  3. bammiller84

    bammiller84 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    DANVILLE, IN
    Ok thanks, I went back and re-read the instructions and must have misunderstood what it said. :) I did not need the resistor anymore. So got it all hooked up today. Was pretty easy really. Truck seems to run a lot better and have more power at idle.

    Thanks again!
     
  4. Chiro

    Chiro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Location:
    A New York Yankee living in Virginia
    Where did you buy the kit from?

    Andy
     
  5. bammiller84

    bammiller84 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    DANVILLE, IN
    I got the kit on EBay had the coil and ignitor. $114 and free shipping.
     
  6. Bilbo

    Bilbo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    682
    Location:
    Magnolia, Texas
    I have Pertronix ignition in my truck. It starts easier and idles better too. Big improvement.
     
  7. vwnate1

    vwnate1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    11,653
    Location:
    AMERICA !
    Don't forget to open up those spark plug gaps to at least .040" ! FEEL the increased power
     
  8. Bilbo

    Bilbo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    682
    Location:
    Magnolia, Texas
    Didn't mention it, but I did re-gap plugs to .045
     
  9. dorcutt

    dorcutt Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Keep the truck in VT
    Interesting, I checked my installation and I connected the red wire in front of the ballast resistor. I have been running it that way for about a year with no problems. It seems to me there are a couple of old threads on this. Dave


    Ps good to see Nate back, I to am slowly getting use to the new format. Just have to use it.
     
  10. vwnate1

    vwnate1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    11,653
    Location:
    AMERICA !
    As long as it works , don't mess with it ! .

    There are different units depending on how much voltage reaches the dizzy and if it's pos. or neg. grounded .

    NEVER leave the key on with the engine not running ! this might fry the unit and it's not cheap to replace .
     
  11. dorcutt

    dorcutt Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Keep the truck in VT
    Nate, thanks for the hint on leaving the unit on with out the truck running. I hopefully remember that. My system is a 12 volt system with negative ground and all is working good,,,,,touch wood.
     
  12. cmkruse

    cmkruse Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    SUNNY FLORIDA
    Nates right about that "key on" thing. I had a push button rigged up to start my panel before I started the resto and looked out one afternoon after having run it earlier in the day an saw some smoke rising from the hood. I thought I had maybe ignited some loose grass it was sitting in until I looked it over and opened the hood to find the coil in full melt down and the oil oozing down the engine. What I need now is a warning buzzer to tell me when I leave it on !!!
     
  13. Bilbo

    Bilbo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    682
    Location:
    Magnolia, Texas
    Consider installing an LED to come on any time the key is on as a reminder?
     
  14. Bill Hanlon

    Bill Hanlon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,735
    Location:
    Fredericksburg TX
    ... or maybe an idiot light for the alternator ??? No run, but key on and the light comes on.
     
  15. 52wasp

    52wasp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Wilton, New Hampshire
    I have given this very topic some thought recently. If an "idiot light" were implemented from an oil-pressure sending unit, if the engine isn't running (but key ON), the light would be illuminated. I too plan on having (an illuminated) push-button to start the truck, and want it lit when the truck is NOT running.
     
  16. vwnate1

    vwnate1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2000
    Messages:
    11,653
    Location:
    AMERICA !
    I so love the little details you alls put in .

    An illuminated push button switch ! great .
     
  17. cmkruse

    cmkruse Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    SUNNY FLORIDA
    I like these ideas too!. I'm still running a generator so I'm going to go with the LED when I do the rewire.
     

Share This Page