What To Do ?

Discussion in '1967-1972' started by vwnate1, Jan 6, 2014.

1. vwnate1

vwnate1 Member

The cab on my sweet '69 C/10 is badly rusted out , more so than I think worth repairing .

So , I've been looking at nicer V-8 powered trucks and have found a couple that look good , have factory AC and are cheaper than replacing the cab on my current rig .

Maybe I'll buy one and swap my I6 into it .

Decisions,........

2. Lakeroadster

Lakeroadster Member

Smart thniking Nate. I know that I'd much rather do driveline work than paint and body.

A V-8 to I-6 swap should be a piece of cake.

3. vwnate1

vwnate1 Member

Possible Next Truck

Right ~

I'm a Mechanic , not a Dolly & Fender Man like Russ , Even and the rest of them here .

It's a ' low hump ' cab (++ !) and factory air too , I've been contemplating adding AC for a while now .

It's black though and black vehicles are not good here in L.A. .

Hmmmmmm.......

I have a spare 292 and TH350C , might assemble those and slip 'em in then service and re seal, repaint the V-8 and stuff it into my old '69 to improve it's resale value....

We'll see .

4. 50 Chevy LS3

50 Chevy LS3 Member

Nate, go ahead and buy the black one if it's rust-free, then find a scuff and shoot paint shop. Surely you guys in SOCAL have something similar to Maico that will throw on an acceptible color.
    I agree with you guys on paint and body work, I can do it, but, would not want that to be my career.
    I thought old rust-free vintage tin was abundant out there.
    I was in California once in my life, delivered Lincoln welders to S.F. and loaded lemons and oranges back to Indy. That was the winter of 1981, I think, I'll bet alot has changed.

5. vwnate1

vwnate1 Member

Color Change

YARGHHHHHHhh ! :eek: .

You mean I'll have to look at the mis - matched color on the dashboard and firewall every time I drive it or check the oil ?! .

PUh-LEASE !! .