Transmission trouble!

Discussion in '1947-1954' started by Bilbo, Mar 15, 2017.

1. Bilbo

Bilbo Member

Well, Clarabelle started growling in 1st and 2nd. Hard to downshift to 2nd. Drained gear lube and it looked like bronze metallic paint...
    So... repair, rebuild, or does someone have a 3 speed for torque tube available?

2. Bill Hanlon

Bill Hanlon Member

The bronze is probably synchronizer dust.

3. Bilbo

Bilbo Member

Yeah. I wonder if it's just that, or what all else is damaged. I've never worked on transmission before. Don't want to dig in unless I have a plan. Don't suppose we can switch out the tail stock on the tyranny you have?

4. Bilbo

Bilbo Member

Hey Evan. My transmission is making noises and the oil looks like metallic bronze Paint. Should I get it rebuilt, or do you maybe have a 3 speed for torque tube?

5. Bill Hanlon

Bill Hanlon Member

We could steal Ken's. He probably wouldn't notice.

ccharr likes this.
  6. coilover

coilover Member

Should have a half dozen or so but how many are truck and how many are car I'd have to check. If push comes to shove you could puts the guts from a car one into your case. If Bill still comes this way he could carry one back or although I have not used them yet I've heard Fastenal is the best way to ship large heavy items. End of next month is Pate and I think you usually attend and so do I.

7. Bilbo

Bilbo Member

Evan! My hero. I'd like to try to get one so I can replace mine before Pate. I'll find a couple of pictures of my tyranny and post here for reference. Don't know when or how Bill Hanlon comes home, but he might be persuaded. If not, I'll gladly pay freight.

8. Bill Hanlon

Bill Hanlon Member

Closest we will get is Arlington at about 4am Sunday morning.

9. Bilbo

Bilbo Member

Evan, you wanna pm me an