Is this 216 any good?

Discussion in '1947-1954' started by edwin wells, Jun 23, 2007.

1. edwin wells

edwin wells Member

I am a frequent reader (but rare poster) to this forum and want to thank everyone for the great knowledge dispensed through all the posts.

My question is this: Is there a way to determine the fitness of an engine while it is out of the truck? I have access to a 1948 216 that smoked a bit when it was in my friends truck but now it is out and available for free. I would like to drop it into my engineless 51 ¾ ton. Is it possible to do a compression test or anything of the sort before I drop it in?

I am a newbie and need a little advice –

Thanks!

Ed

2. coilover

coilover Member

Sure you can check compression, just hook a battery (6 0r 12 volt) up with positive cable to starter and negative to block. Remove sparkplugs and mash the lever on the starter against the switch to turn over. If you can bolt the starter linkage up, including the pedal from inside the cab it's alot easier because the spring on the lever is pretty strong. With a jumper wire from the positive bat post to the coil + and a hose from the fuel pump to a gas can you can fire it up but it's hard to hear much with the open exhaust. You also need to plug the oil pressure line to the guage or it gets messy. You can run a used engine for several minutes without hurting it and it will let you know if it's running smoothly on all six. If it runs rough and one or more plugs are oil fouled it needs work.

3. vwnate1

vwnate1 Member

Used Engine Testing

Ed ;

I do this all the time when I get cheap or free engines .

1st. things 1st. = VALVE ADJUST ! .

$5.00 says at least two will have zero clearance and you CANNOT accurately test the compression with tight valves .

Remove all 6 sparkplugs and adjust the valves , look at the valve stems between thier coil springs and if they look dry , squirt or dribble ,some oil on them so they don't stick .