New 54 Truck

Discussion in '1947-1954' started by Climberdad, Nov 4, 2007.

1. Climberdad

Climberdad Member

Hello all,

Newbie here...

I just got a new (to me) 54 Chevy truck. My brother in law has had it for the past 20 years and it has set in his garage for the vast majority of that time. It runs like a champ. It is in great shape. All original except for a 12 volt conversion.

When I got it he said that it pulled to the drivers side when the brakes were applied. He thought that the PS front wheel cylinder was locked up. I have removed and rebuilt all 4 wheel cylinders, the master cylinder, replaced the two front flexible brake hoses, adjusted the shoes, and vaccuum bled the wheel cylinders. It still pulls to the drivers side when braking.

I am a fairly competent shade tree mechanic but I am very inexperienced when it comes to drum brakes. I would appreciate your feedback/suggestions.

Also, is thare an area on this board for answers to silly Newbie questions? I've never owned a vehicle this old and I know there are issues of lead additives for fuel and other such info.

Cheers!

Here's a couple of pics

Attached Files:

2. Thunder54

Thunder54 Member

Really nice 54!

Does it have the original radio?

When you get tired of the grill guard, I will help you disgard it:D.

I am no mechnaic, but have some luck adjusting, rebuildling old brakes. I have always adjusted each brake tight, then back off until each frees enough to allow the wheel to spin about one revolution before stopping.

Sounds like you have already been past this point. There are experts that will step up here.

Nice truck. Original 325, 3 speed, or 4 speed?

Jim

Attached Files:

3. Kens 50 PU

Kens 50 PU Member

Welcome, Bruce!